Thoughtful Paintings

This is a technique I learnt on my foundation course. It is similar to Jackson Pollock’s action painting in the way that instead of actually painting a subject you paint for the act of painting. For these paintings I put a range of colours onto my palette and tried to paint without thinking about what I was actually painting and whether or not it looked good. I tried to get myself into the mind set that these paintings didn’t matter and that they were just experiments so I wouldn’t become too involved with the way they looked but became more involved with the actual action of painting. I wanted to make it so that I was painting my thoughts instead of illustrating them. So that I was thinking whilst painting instead of thinking about what I was going to paint.

Another technique that I want to try is to write without thinking…so that in the end what you’re writing isn’t actually words but still says a lot about yourself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment